Prologue – Bali Nine – My Story, my struggle, my life.

Prologue :

Arrest
The day lives were changed forever.

Five gun barrels are pointing directly at my head. Daring me to make any sudden moves. Moments before this, around thirty guys with guns came in the hotel room. My first thoughts when I saw them was, the mafia is robbing us. I don’t know why my thoughts were of that. My only knowledge about the mafia is what I had learnt from the movies. With the guns pointing at my head, I turned slowly to see how the other three guys were doing. They too, were in the same situation. I turned my head back slowly, well aware of the dangers it posed with the guns still pointing towards my head and looked the guy in the eyes. Mafia. A guy begins to talk, didn’t understand a word he was saying. He motioned to the floor, we all sat down. Exactly what happens in the movies. What’s next were my thoughts. Tying our hands behind our backs. And then being a gentlemen saying, this isn’t personal but business. And then shooting us in the head and burying us in the desert. My mind was fixed on that scene, while in real life, a guy was saying something about Narcotic Division. I am assuming that they wanted to check the bags, because they had already begun to search without waiting for him to finish talking. There was a suitcase with a lock on it. This seems to preplexed them. One of them asked us if we could open it. It seemed like we had misplaced or lost the key, they weren’t too happy with our responses. They begun to pick open the lock, it took a few funny moments but they finally succeeded. Inside, they had found scales, plastic wraps, white powder and black powder. This seems to make them happy, almost to make them jump up and down for joy. A different guy came over, he opened up the white powder bag and dipped his finger in and tasted it. He smiled, my heart sank. When he smiled, the delight on their faces was obvious, everyone was happy. Apart from the four guys sitting on the floor with blank looks on their faces. They then proceeded to question us seperately at the same time around the room. They were rewarded with many torrents of I don’t knows and huh what. Their happiness only a few moments before, didn’t last very long, now it was our turn to smile while they didn’t look too impressed. This was the moment my life, and the lives of eight others, changed forever.

My name is Tan Duc Thanh Nguyen and I am known in the media as part of the Bali Nine. Allow me to enter your lives, a journey thru my eyes and thoughts as I grew up and experienced all the things I did. This is my story, let me share it with you.

If you would like to make contributions towards Jolita travelling cost, it’s getting way too expensive for her to handle it alone. It would be much appreciated.

PayPal Jolitaishak@hotmail.com

4 thoughts on “Prologue – Bali Nine – My Story, my struggle, my life.”

  1. I can only imagine how terrified you were Tan and of what you and the others have experienced over the years. People make mistakes, Im sure you have learned from the experience. I just hope that somehow you will be spared from years in there and will be allowed a second chance to have a life. You are in my prayers and I will contribute to your fund when I can. All the best to you always, Suzy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully written Tan. It is time for Australia to bring you all home. I will continue to help fight for your freedom. You have all been punished enough and now deserve a second chance. As Myu said “People Can Change”. You’re not forgotten Tan. Please keep that in your mind. May you find some peace amongst the chaos of the world around you ❤✌ namaste

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment